top of page

Winter Carping






We all find it hard venturing out to the bank in winter,

its difficult to find the motivation with the freezing cold weather but

who can blame you?..

The best thing to do is just suck it up and go! hit the bank

with motivation because motivation is key to success,


My plan of attack during the past winters was short sessions

and it was as simple as that.

First light is important! be on the bank and set up for first light

i agree with other anglers that during the winter first light feeding time is something you do not want to miss the bites will come early morning till 12noon..


Winter is the time i find myself using PVA Stick Mixes, My mixes are no different to anyone else

Some pellet, ground up boilie and a liquid to boost the attraction.

Visabilty plays a lot in my winter fishing i always use a hook bait that is Bright! Pink, Yellow

and White are my winter go to's..


Fish behavoir,

They will usually group up together somewhere and they will stay there as long

as they can until something spooks them.


So what does this mean?

Re-cast to find them and re-cast to stay on them! I find myself recasting my rods quite

regular once you find them, spook them, re-cast to follow them. Rinse and repeat.



So that is my Winter tactics. What's yours?



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2018 by Bankside Fishing.

bottom of page